[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 678: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 678: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 678: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions_content.php on line 678: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is no longer supported, use preg_replace_callback instead
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4668: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4670: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4671: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/includes/functions.php on line 4672: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [ROOT]/includes/functions.php:3815)
Gryphonheart AddOns - View topic - .blp and .tga basic questions
View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Dec 02, 2020 8:32 am



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 .blp and .tga basic questions 
Author Message

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:26 pm
Posts: 9
Realm Name:
Is there a tutorial out there that I'm missing about loading .blp and .tga files into GHI ?
I've put some files in the '../GHM/GHI_Icons' folder with all the .blp icons, but I'm not sure how I'm supposed to title them to get them to appear in the appropriate places. There must be a script somewhere pulling all those images in?

On a related note, I've searched far and wide for a mac-based .blp editor/ creator and failed to come up with anything. XnView, BLPNGconverter running on Wine, were close but no luck. Any suggestions? A real VM instead of Wine would probably do it if there's not an easier solution.

thanks GHI team you are the reason I still play WoW :)


Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:03 am
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:32 am
Posts: 944
Realm Name:
Its not a script pulling them in, its all hand coded. So really putting them in the GHM folders isn't gonna do much for you.

Better off in a folder called something like CustomImages in your main addon folder so you have a central place to call stuff VIA script to get a full path name. (or to use in a addon called KGPAnels or the like)

the other thing, An image you use in GHI Via script is only applicable to YOU. IF you trade this item with the custom imagery with a script you are subjecting your reciving party to a bright green blob (wow uses bright green solid color when it cannot find a specified texture)

i do not know of any tools for mac right off
http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/i ... erter.html
http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/i ... P2PNG.html
maybe but heres the thing you CANNOT go directly from tga to blp you have to go TGA-PNG-BLP
the same goes for the reverse (UNLESS you are saving from wowmodelviewer then you can just tell it to save as a TGA or a PNG)

info on textures:
http://wowprogramming.com/docs/widgets/Texture

also image sizes have to be in power of 2 (i.e. 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256, 512, 1024, etc).

_________________
www.netherbane.org
Fethas Ravenmoon Earthen Ring US


Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:53 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:26 pm
Posts: 9
Realm Name:
thank you, that was spot on.

the possibility of exchanging user-generated images seems too good to pass up (I run a newspaper with GHI) , so to harp on it just a little:

images are probably called from scripts with a " url(../filepath) " -type function? So maybe we are just missing an "image->string" function, so it could be traded as actual data along with the script? I've been working with javascript libraries that deal with similar issues recently.

I'll look more into that if that sounds reasonable.

thanks!


Fri Mar 07, 2014 9:13 pm
Profile

Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 3:32 am
Posts: 944
Realm Name:
its not possible in wows set up. You cannot transfer actual file data, only text base data.
by that i mean if user A has an image, there is no way to transfer it to User B via wows API, its more of a blizzard security measure.
It has to be built it, or shared between users before hand. (IE you host it in a zip file and give it to the user then script can call it if you tell the user where to install the images so your script finds them)

_________________
www.netherbane.org
Fethas Ravenmoon Earthen Ring US


Tue Mar 11, 2014 1:47 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.